Technology Timeout – Is It Too Late?

In our society, we are never alone, not truly. We are always connected to others through our phones and social media. Sometimes this leads to us being lost in information without ever actually having a conversation. Unplugging isn’t the same as it used to be. Turning your phone off today while going for a drive, for many, including myself, means not being able to navigate or not being able to sing along to your favorite tunes.

I’m not advocating for turning off your phone, that would make me a hypocrite. I spend just as much time needlessly surfing Facebook, Snapchat, and Twitter as the next person, but when all I wanted to do was turn everything off and actually be alone it was nearly impossible. I just wanted to post and go. No talking to anyone, just document my life and leave. I was hiding in plain sight and didn’t feel like talking.

Sometimes it’s nice to think about unplugging, getting away from the mess that we have created, but there are moments when I realized that I’m in too deep. Leaving my phone in the next room is okay for a few minutes until I realize I don’t know what time it is.

Recently I noticed that we also use our technology to ignore the people around us. We are actually able to turn conversations on and off with our headphones. One headphone, talk to me. Two headphones, don’t bother me and excuse me if I don’t hear you. In fact, while walking in the park I was bumped by a lady trying to pass me. She obviously had been trying to communicate with me and was upset I hadn’t moved until she saw my headphones. When she realized I had them in she actually apologized to me.

I had never realized how much we control social situations with our technology.

I would say that I’m going to put it down, but if this weekend is any indication, small doses are doable, but the way our society moves “unplugging” gets harder and harder every day.

Never being alone comes with consequences.

Leave a Reply

